How important is Customer Satisfaction


I was in a training session where we discussed on why we need to improve the quality of service we provide to our customers.

Trainer explained the story of Dave Carroll a musician who got frustrated from United Airlines service and came up with video called “United” which went viral after which “United Airline” suffered a huge loss.

Back Ground Story:

Dave Traveled in United Airlines (American Airlines) and at the destination, baggage handlers threw his guitar and it broke. It was his favorite 3500$ Taylor Guitar

He contacted United Airline, registered complaint but no one took an actionable.

In fact they denied taking responsibility and started playing blame game on different member.

He escalated the issue to every concerned person but his reimbursement claim was rejected.

After 8-9 month of struggle. His claim was fruitless. Airlines did not help him at all

Frustrated from all this he came up with a video 1 which shows how the Airlines escaped from the responsibilities after breaking his guitar. He says “I should have gone by the car”, “cuz united breaks guitar”

Now already the video had gone viral, and negative publicity of airlines had started.

It gained 150,000 views within a day.

I also read somewhere that United Airlines’ stock price fell 10%, costing stockholders about $180 million in value.

He released another song, video2 and video3 which gave a message that if you don’t change “who would fly with you”

Airlines couldn’t do much than apologizing him, the reimbursement amount was given as a charity as suggested by Dave.

Carroll also published a book on his experience. He gained enormous support from the public and was a popular personality between 2009-2012

Soon after this, airline started training their employee about customer satisfaction.

Ok so now this came to my mind when i saw an appreciation i received from a customer . he sent a mail stating ”

“Hi Supreet,

I would like to compliment you on the way you handle this bug fixing, migration fixing activity on the application. I am convinced you will make a success on this. If there are problems occurring, please let me know, so I can support”

So what do you folks think about Customer satisfaction. Let me know your reviews

Author: theonlysup

Self Motivated. Optimistic , Resilient . Sometimes emotional, most of the Time Happy :)

9 thoughts on “How important is Customer Satisfaction”

  1. Customer satisfaction is very important indeed. Today, I called two stores looking for a particular item. At one store, the person I spoke with told me to look at their website to see the different brands and models of this item. She went on to let me know that I could also find out from the website if it was in stock at their store. Although that was helpful, I called the store hoping to receive recommendations from someone who was knowledgeable about their products. Any idiot can look on the website. The other store I called had a person who was able to tell me what they had in stock, and helped me figure out what model of item would best suit my needs. I will be going to that store tomorrow to give them my business.

  2. Customer satisfaction is always important especially for service-oriented businesses. Without customer’s support, they can hardly survive. BTW, It was amazing to see the appreciation letter of yours 🙂 Keep it up Supreet! 😉

Leave a Reply

