Kaizen and not creativity?


I had written on Kaizen white boards’ long back and I thought it’s a wonderful idea to bring improvement in the process we follow in our projects.

I was happy that we implemented the idea and utilized the whiteboards to

  • Track Individual performance by writing dashboard data on whiteboard
  • Write setbacks/challenges we face daily
  • Write the priorities we have for the day or for a week
  • Write continuous improvement plans as kaizen itself means Continuous improvement.

I do not follow any specific rules or methods to fill my whiteboard data. The format changes every week

I write almost all the things which I concentrate on. And I don’t think I should use a specific format for this

Recently I got an instruction from the manager and the audit team to following a specific template they have provided.

I’m against it. White board writing should be fun, creative, it should reflect your thought process in bringing the improvements

Hence I have reduced taking responsibilities on updating the board.

I think I should have the freedom to represent the thought process more creatively which will benefit me and my team and not just to satisfy some Audit team.

I write only the things which I concentrate on and do not wish to fill up too many stuffs just to satisfy the template they have provided and see my white board cluttered. NO I do not wish this

I do not support much of the work which stops the creativity within you

So what do you think of this folks?

Author: theonlysup

Self Motivated. Optimistic , Resilient . Sometimes emotional, most of the Time Happy :)

32 thoughts on “Kaizen and not creativity?”

    1. yeah right 1 board per team . and many teams do follow the suggested templates and I’m dead opposite to that because using some template limits my creative thinking .

  1. If you are using Agile, don’t you discuss this in Retrospectives if it is a per team thing??

    why do you need a board for this??

    If you wish to incorporate continuous improvement on a higher level like a process, then using Kaizen-boards would make more sense to me.
    Just my thoughts based on how I have seen it being used!

    1. its not agile , they are trying to incorporate agile in non agile process.
      whiteboards works for me in writing my thought process,outcome of brainstorming sessions which i mentioned in the post i don’t wish to flash dashboard kind of thing on the white board . and i agree with u on this

  2. It is so unbelievable!!! I can’t believe they actually provided a specific format for you to follow. What’s the point of using Kaizen whiteboards when creativity is not allowed? 😦

  3. I don’t know how the IT sector works. Hence, I’m saying this from my heart.
    I believe white boards are specifically made white so that the users can pour in their creativity. What’s the point of using a white board when you can’t even be creative? I’m totally against this following-the-particular-template rule. 🙂

      1. bolis they dont like implementation of creative ideas. adikke ppl die to join organisations like Shell, Google etc. They wont restrict people

Leave a Reply

