Are you an Effective Manager?


If some1 asked you what kind of manager u want to become what would you say?
Result oriented? People oriented? What makes you more effective as a manager?
We see people who are not happy either with technology they work with or the manager they work with
How best you can manage ur people(resource).
Consider these points.

  • How effective are you at setting Goals for self and subordinates?

Remember, 80-20 rule. 80% of your important results will come from 20% of your
goals.

Your resources fail to deliver because you haven’t made it clear to them about their roles and responsibilities. Understanding what your responsibilities are, are the first step for goal settings

You haven’t shared the common goal of your team.

  •  Are you appreciating your people?

Honestly, we have forgotten to appreciate people when they do the exceptional work. That can be driving force, while they always care about CSAT (Customer satisfaction) they often forget about ESAT (Employee Satisfaction) if you do not keep your team happy achieving Customer satisfaction becomes hard. Think about it.

How many of us have undergone situations where managers forgets the 8 out of 10 things done wonderfully and remembers 2 tasks incompletely/improperly done?

  • Are you giving them enough opportunities to learn?

A leader should always try to give their team opportunities to handle tasks independently , give them space to think creatively and come up with ideas and suggestions

I honestly believe sending my team member on training wherever I find the skill gap , so that it will help them and team in managing the project deliverable better

How often we see manger observing our
activities very closely. I think keeping track of performance of team and closely monitoring the pattern they work is useful.

Or its up to you to decide if you are happy with your present role and don’t want to take added responsibility in the new role and grow as individual/professional that is also your wish 🙂 either way good luck:)

So would like to ask you folks.. what would feel would make you an effective manager

Author: theonlysup

Self Motivated. Optimistic , Resilient . Sometimes emotional, most of the Time Happy :)

28 thoughts on “Are you an Effective Manager?”

      1. Yes indeed. someone who helps you realise your potential is a true leader . it will help you grow as an individual and the team will benefit to a great extent

      2. Depends on person . i have been with couple of great managers who assisted me in various aspects.
        i have also seen managers who are hopeless in supporting their employees also .All they care about is Revenue. the outcome . so all i can say is it depends on an individual

      3. It does always. It is not a universal law. But what I feel that some organisations with great vision have such hopeless managers who drive many projects, ideally such people do not fit the vision quote however they are present everywhere. May be they are essential evil. I feel pity for employees under such managers. I feel sad too.

  1. When I was chief-secretary many years back I was the boss of up to 5 people. During the time I started until I left I think I learned a lot about leading people. I was very young too I have to admit. I started with 19 and left that position with 25. In the beginning I was under pressure and insecure myself which made its way to my employees. I was more of a dictator. After 2 – 3 years, regretting a lot and growing into my job I made us a team and I saw myself more as the moderator and direction leader. We were laughing a lot more and the motivation and efficiency multiplied.

    1. Germans have a little bit of dictatorship in their blood 🙂 but yeah i appreciate that you took a responsible role at the age of 19 and learned a lot as leader on people management .

      1. Just to make sure… I am not German 😉 I was the daughter of the boss, and also the first of three children… understand the pressure?

      2. Apologies for the mistake here. yeah i completely understand it . i also lost my father at nearly same age , infact when i was 17 and i’m the elder son .

  2. I believe what a manager effective is when he/she can be flexible to deal with people and different situations, but determined enough to make decisions. Also, he/she needs to well balance the result oriented and the people oriented aspects 😉

  3. theoretically I am, practically most probably not! 😉

    I love giving online tests, in tests I mark lavishly (I don’t cheat) but in real life I am really lousy when it comes to control/manipulate/tame human beings I will rather deal with a pack of wolves hee haa ha

      1. by controlling I meant managing, I have seen people respond better to slave-masters 🙂 If you treat your juniors with understanding, compassion very rare understand that language and a manager has to tame the entire bandwagon, not one or two decent souls 😉

  4. I like your 80/20 rule in my line of work the 80/20 rule actually works out to be that 80 percent of your time will be spent on 20 percent of your population. You touch on employee satisfaction, being in the associate relations department we focus on this with our entire company and believe it is extremely important to develop engaged associates. Self-awareness is extremely important for a leader and getting the feedback from direct reports as well as internal and external customers is also imperative. You are dead on with this!!!!

Leave a Reply

